Response to “Rabbi Speaks Out Against Israel”

Last week, Rabbi Yisroel Dovid Weiss came to California State University, Long Beach and spoke his views on Judaism versus Zionism as being against each other.  I created signs and protested him along with some students.
The article covering the event in the Daily 49er, “Rabbi Speaks Out Against Israel“, fortunately does quote a student and me who were protesting, providing some balance to the article.  However, it only refers to his organizational connection as being a part of Neturei Karta at the end, which is significant, since they are the primary Jewish group that are so vehemently anti-Zionist, and are a small group.
A further issue presented in the article is that one student is quoted as saying that

“I definitely thought it was very informative,” said Ahmad Shabaik, junior engineering major and member of MSA. “We really work a lot with the Palestine issue and we never get a chance to hear the Jewish perspective on it.”

What strikes me about this quote is that I, as a campus rabbi, am around and available to speak on the topic.  Now, I can understand them not having me speak on the topic if they weren’t aware of me as a campus rabbi to speak, however, I spoke on a panel the week before that the MSA were involved with.  In the future, I am available….

About Rabbi Drew

The current SoCal Jewish Student Services Rabbi.
This entry was posted in Anti-Zionism, Campus Newspaper, CSULB. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

